Menopause marks the date of a woman’s last period that usually occurs between
the age of 48 and 52; however, menopause can occur in some women as early as
their late 30s or as late as their mid-50s. There are four stages of menopause.

Stage 1
Pre-menopausal stage is marked by months or years of irregular cycles. These
irregular cycles occur before a woman has her final menstrual period.

Stage 2
This stage is named perimenopause. During perimenopause, a woman will
experience hot flashes, vaginal dryness and have erratic periods.

Stage 3
Menopause is marked by the woman’s final menstrual cycle. She may not be
certain that it was her final period until a year later when she can confirm that she
is not simply irregular.

Stage 4
Postmenopause is the period of life following menopause.

A woman should continue regular visits with her OB/GYN during these stages of her life in
order maintain her physical and mental well being. Your physician will monitor necessary
mammogram and pap spear check-ups.